



MEETING HELD ON

**TUESDAY 5 NOVEMBER 2013** 

# **TABLE OF CONTENTS**

Item No.	Title	Page No.
	Declaration of Opening	3
	Election of Presiding Member	4
	Election of Deputy Presiding Member	4
	Declarations of Interest	4
	Apologies/Leave of Absence	4
	Closure	4

# CITY OF JOONDALUP

MINUTES OF THE SPECIAL MEETING OF THE POLICY COMMITTEE HELD IN CONFERENCE ROOM 1, JOONDALUP CIVIC CENTRE, BOAS AVENUE, JOONDALUP ON TUESDAY 5 NOVEMBER 2013.

### **ATTENDANCE**

### **Committee Members:**

Mayor Troy Pickard Cr John Chester Cr Liam Gobbert Cr Kerry Hollywood Cr Mike Norman Cr Teresa Ritchie, JP Cr Philippa Taylor

#### Officers:

Mr Garry Hunt Chief Executive Officer

Mr Jamie Parry
Mr Mike Smith
Director Governance and Strategy
Acting Director Corporate Services

Ms Dale Page Director Planning and Community Development

Mr Nico Claassen Director Infrastructure Services

Mr Brad Sillence Manager Governance
Mr John Corbellini Manager Planning Services

Mrs Deborah Gouges Governance Officer
Mrs Rose Garlick Governance Officer

#### Observers:

Cr Geoff Amphlett, JP

Cr Brian Corr

Cr Russ Fishwick, JP

Cr Tom Mclean, JP

Cr Sam Thomas

## **DECLARATION OF OPENING**

The Chief Executive Officer declared the meeting open at 7.50pm.

#### **ELECTION OF PRESIDING MEMBER**

Section 5.12 of the *Local Government Act 1995* requires a Committee appointed by a local government, to appoint a Presiding Member as the first item of business at its first meeting. Schedule 2.3 of the Act requires the Chief Executive Officer to preside.

Cr Thomas nominated Cr Gobbert for the position of Presiding Member. Cr Gobbert accepted the nomination.

There being no further nominations at the close of the Election for Presiding Member, Cr Gobbert was declared elected unopposed to the position of Presiding Member and assumed the Chair at 7.51pm.

### **ELECTION OF DEPUTY PRESIDING MEMBER**

It is advisable that the Committee appoints a Deputy Presiding Member, who would chair the meeting in the absence of the Presiding Member.

Mayor Pickard nominated Cr Chester for the position of Deputy Presiding Member. Cr Chester accepted the nomination.

There being no further nominations at the close of the Election for Deputy Presiding Member, Cr Chester was declared elected unopposed to the position of Deputy Presiding Member.

## **DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST**

Nil.

# APOLOGIES/LEAVE OF ABSENCE

Nil.

## **CLOSURE**

There being no further business, the Presiding Member declared the Meeting closed at 7.53pm, the following Committee Members being present at that time:

Cr Liam Gobbert Mayor Troy Pickard Cr John Chester Cr Kerry Hollywood Cr Mike Norman Cr Teresa Ritchie, JP Cr Philippa Taylor